If your license has been suspended or revoked you will likely be required to file SR-22 insurance to show proof of financial responsibility. This form is an attachment to an auto insurance policy and costs approximately $25 to add depending on the company you choose.
Can I get an SR22 in Alabama if I don't own a car?
Yes, the auto insurance policy you are talking about is called a non-owner SR22. This type of auto insurance covers any vehicle you drive but only liability if you cause bodily injury or death. If you own a vehicle you just need to get standard auto insurance for that car. It will save you money if you just insure it for liability coverage versus full coverage.
How much does SR22 insurance cost in Alabama?
The cost of car insurance can vary drastically from person to person due to the following factors:
- Driving record - tickets and accidents in the last 3 years
- Credit history - The better your credit the cheaper the policy can be
- Age - the cheapest rates are ages 30-60
- Address - if you live in a city the cost will be higher due to population
- Vehicle type - more expensive vehicles cost more
The cost of the SR-22 is usually less than $50 to add to the policy but the underlying reason you need the SR22 is why the insurance could be expensive. Your best option is to get multiple quotes from top insurance companies in your area. Try our free service to compare up to 5 different companies now.
Alabama SR-13 Form
If you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident you will be required to complete an SR-13 form. This form is in part due to the Safety Responsibility Act that requires the form is completed in 30 days of the accident.
If the accident is your fault and you have failed to complete the SR-13 form your driver's license could be suspended.
Alabama SR22 Requirements
The state of Alabama requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $25k Property Damage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Alabama now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.
Suspended License and Reinstatement
- Suspended/cancelled licenses $100
- Revoked licenses $175
- Alcohol/drug related suspension $275
- Failure to surrender license within 30 days $50
- Failure to pay child support $50
The suspension period will vary depending on the amount of points a driver has accumulated and the time period. Here is a list of the suspension period given the number of points accumulated:
Points | Time Period | Suspension Period
- 12-14 | 2 years | 60 days
- 15-17 | 2 years | 90 days
- 18-20 | 2 years | 120 days
- 21-23 | 2 years | 180 days
- 24+ | 2 years | 365 days
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Alabama
You are prohibited to drive a motor vehicle in Alabama when your blood alcohol concentration reaches the following limits:
- All drivers = .08
- Under age 21 = .02 (Zero Tolerance)
- Commercial drivers = .04
Implied Consent Law
When you accept a drivers license the state assumes you have consented to a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine to determine your blood alcohol concentration. If you refuse this test by the officer your license will be suspended immediately.
Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?
New legislation in Alabama for 2010 has changed the rules for when you are required to install an ignition interlock device.
DUI Conviction # | IID Required | IID Time Period
- 1st | Court Decision | ?
- 2nd | Yes | 2 Years
- 3rd | Yes | 3 Years
- 4th+ | Yes | 5 Years