If you are required to file an SR22 for the state of Colorado contact an insurance company or agent who is licensed to sell insurance in Colorado. You will be required to carry state minimum liability limits and continue the insurance policy for the duration of your specific court requirement.
Most insurance companies will electronically submit your SR22 to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles. You can deliver the form in person to 1881 Pierce Street in Lakewood, Colorado.
Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.
What violations require an SR-22 filing?
Below are a list of violations that may require you to file an SR22 with the department of motor vehicles. This is not an exhaustive list but includes the most common violations:
- Failure to drive with proper liability insurance
- Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
- Refusal to take chemical BAC test
- Failure to pay child support
- Vehicular homicide or vehicular assault conviction
What if I cancel my SR-22 insurance prior to the end of my probation period?
If you let your SR-22 insurance policy lapse or cancel it prior to the end of your probation period the insurance company will notify the state immediately. Once the state is notified your driver's license will be suspended until you reinstate the SR22 and your probation period will start over. It is in your best interest to maintain the SR22 policy so you don't pay any additional fees.
CO SR22 Requirements
The state of Colorado requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. In most cases you will need to maintain the SR-22 for a period of three years but it can be as long as five years. Colorado law has minimum SR22 liability limits as follows:
- $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $15k Property Damage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Colorado now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.
Suspended License Information and Requirements
License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing. Some reinstatements can be done at local Driver's License offices such as:
- Unpaid Tickets
- Child Support
- Point Suspensions
If you are mailing in an application be sure to complete the Application for Reinstatement and include a check or money order for $95 plus any specific requirements like an SR22.
What is an Administration Insurance Suspension?
If you are unable to produce proof of liability insurance during a routine traffic stop the officer will issue you a Notice of Suspension. This notice is valid for 7 days and you will need to request a hearing and bring proof of insurance to the hearing.
In the event you are unable to show that you had liability insurance during the traffic stop you will need to complete an application for reinstatement, pay the $95 fee, and show proof of insurance.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Colorado
Action will be taken against the driver after a conviction in court for Driving Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance (drugs or alcohol) or if convicted of being a habitual user of a controlled substance. There is a license revocation order for 1-year following a conviction. Once that period has expired as well as any others the driver can begin the process of getting their license reinstated. Reinstatement requirements are, but not limited to:
- Complete the Application for Reinstatement and submit the form to the DMV
- Pay the $95.00 reinstatement fee (check/money order payable to the Department of Revenue)
- You may be required to carry a SR22 for 3 years from the date of reinstatement
- You may be required to take an eye, written, and driving test to have a new license issued to you
New Laws - Legislative mandates effective January 1, 2014 had significant changes to laws involving alcohol and drug violations, Persistent Drunk Drivers (PDD) and the Ignition Interlock program. Those changes include:
- The reduction of the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) on a chemical test from 0.17 to 0.15 results in a Persistent Drunk Driver designation.
- The refusal of a chemical test at a traffic stop on or after January 1, 2014 will now result in a Persistent Drunk Driver designation.
- If you have refused a chemical test prior to January 1, 2014 and were previously ineligible to reinstate early with Interlock, you may now either finish serving the remainder of your revocation and reinstate with full driving privileges, or serve at least two months and apply for early reinstatement with Interlock for one year. You are not eligible for Financial Assistance in this case.
- If you have multiple alcohol violations or refusals on your record, the wait time for early reinstatement with Interlock has been reduced to one or two months, respectively.
Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?
The state of Colorado will require you to obtain an Ignition Interlock Device if:
- License has been revoked because you were convicted for two (2) alcohol related driving offenses within five (5) years
- License has been revoked because you were convicted of three (3) alcohol related driving offenses in your driving lifetime
- License has been revoked because you have been designated a Habitual Traffic Offender and you have at least one conviction that was alcohol related
- Last offense occurred after 07/01/2000
- BAC level was 0.17% or more at the time of the police stop (for all stops after 01/01/2007)
Where can I get an ignition interlock device in Colorado?
Here is a list of approved IID installers:
- Guardian Interlock Systems - (800) 499-0994
- National Interlock Services - (800) 475-5490
- Smart Start, Inc - (800) 880-3394
Can I get early reinstatement of driving privileges with an ignition interlock?
Early reinstatement is limited to drivers who:
- Are residents of Colorado
- Are 21 years of age or older at the time of the violation
- Have satisfied all reinstatement requirements (other than time)
Reinstatements beginning January 1, 2014
- Have a Per Se or DUI conviction and have already served one month for the alcohol related restraint, or
- Have a Refusal of a BAC test and have already served two months for the alcohol related restraint