The Department of Transportation may suspend your license for the following reasons which require an SR-22 to reinstate:
- Failure to pay child support
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Reckless driving
- Refusal of chemical test for BAC
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
How long do I need SR-22 insurance in Wyoming?
Depending on the court decision the required time to carry an SR22 is three (3) to five (5) years. If you are required to maintain the insurance policy for five years and you have no other violations during the first 36 months the state may waive the remaining 24 months.
Can I get SR22 insurance if I don't own a car?
Yes, if you don't own a vehicle you can get Wyoming non-owner SR-22 insurance which allows you to driver any vehicle. If your spouse owns a vehicle you must use that vehicle to get the SR-22.
What is the penalty for allowing my SR-22 policy to cancel?
If you cancel or let the auto insurance policy cancel prior to the end of the probation period your license will be suspended again. You will then have to get the policy started again which can increase the premium and your probation period starts over again.
Wyoming SR22 Insurance Requirements
Wyoming SR22 law requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum SR22 requirements are:
- $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $20k Property Damage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Wyoming now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.
Suspended License Information and Requirements
After a suspension is over you can get your old driver's license back if it is still valid. A revocation cancels your driver's license, and you must go through an investigation to be re-licensed once the revocation is over.
Offenses that cause a revocation:
- 3rd or subsequent DWUI
- Leaving the scene of an injury accident
- Homicide by vehicle
- Felony related to driving
- 3rd or subsequent reckless driving conviction
In order to reinstate your license you need to make sure there are no more suspend able offenses and you have filed a Wyoming SR22 insurance form. Then you may pay the reinstatement fee in person, by mail or call.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Wyoming
It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. The state of Wyoming has different acceptable levels depending on the type of driver.
All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
Drivers under 21 = 0.02%
Commercial Drivers = 0.04%
Implied Consent Law
If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Wyoming your license will be suspended/revoked for the following timeframe:
First Refusal - 6 month suspension
Second Refusal - 18 month suspension
Effective August 15, 2018: Those drivers who are driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle, a BAC of .08 or greater shall also be disqualified from obtaining or holding a commercial driver license for a period of one (1) year for the first offense and for a lifetime for a second or subsequent offense.
Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?
Ignition interlock devices must be installed on any vehicle operated by anyone who has been convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses. You will be notified by mail if you are required to install the ignition interlock device.
Listed below are some of the offenses and relative time requirements:
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI) - alcohol related
- 1st DUI with BAC of .15% or higher (6 months from conviction)
- 2nd DUI (1 year from conviction)
- 3rd DUI (2 years from conviction)
- 4th DUI or more (5 years from conviction with an appeal)
- Refusal to take chemical test
- 1st violation (6 months from offense)
- 2nd violation (1 year from offense)
- 3rd violation (2 years from offense)
- 4th violation or more (5 years from conviction with an appeal)
If the offender removes the IID prior to the end of the suspension period their driving privileges will be withdrawn until the suspension period ends.
Ignition Interlock Device Requirements:
- File SR22 insurance
- Pay the $50 reinstatement fee, regular driver license fee and the $100 ignition interlock administrative fee
- Install an approved IID and maintain it
- Apply for a special "IIR" restricted driver's license
Approved Ignition Interlock Device Companies:
- LifeSafer Inc: 800-634-3077
- Smart Start Inc: 800-880-3394
- Intoxalock: 833-210-8201
- Low Cost Interlock: 844-218-6335
- Draeger: 800-332-6858