The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles may require you to carry SR22 insurance or an SR-22 bond. Both insurance and bonds provide liability insurance for at least the state minimum coverage level but insurance can provide more options.
What is an SR-22/Bond?
The bond will provide liability protection of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident plus $25,000 for property damage. This type of bond will cover you no matter which car you are driving and is often referred to as Ohio's Financial Responsibility Filing. Remember that the bond is only for liability protection and it will not insure your vehicle.
Should I buy an SR22 bond or SR22 insurance policy?
If you are only looking to fulfill your court ordered requirements and don't care to protect your vehicle or yourself against uninsured drivers a bond will work. An SR-22 insurance policy will provide the state with your court required documents plus add benefits such as comprehensive and collision coverage for your vehicle. Most people opt for the insurance policy. Get SR22 insurance quotes from local companies to compare rates fast.
Reasons you may be required to have an SR22:
- 12 points on your license
- Involved in accident without insurance
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Traffic violation while driving without insurance
How much does SR22 insurance cost in Ohio?
Most insurance companies will charge a filing fee of $25 to $50 to add the SR-22 form to an auto insurance policy. The type of policy can be liability only, full coverage, or a non-owner policy. With regards to the cost of such policy it truly depends on the following factors and not directly related to the SR22 filing in OH:
- Credit History
- Driving Record
- Vehicle Model
Ohio SR22 Laws
Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.
Ohio SR22 law requires the filing for three years from the suspension date or 5 years if you were not carrying insurance at the time.
If you live in a different state or move to a different state, you must still file the SR-22/bond if it is a requirement for your Ohio suspension. The SR-22/bond must be written for the state of Ohio.
Ohio SR22 Insurance Requirements
The state of Ohio requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $25,000 for injury/death of one person
- $50,000 for injury/death of two or more people
- $25,000 for property damage in an accident
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Suspended License and Reinstatement
In Ohio you may get your license suspended for one of the following reasons:
- 12 points on driving record within a two year period | 6 month suspension
- Child support order is in default or person failed to comply with warrant | Indefinite suspension until in compliance
- First Offense OVI or DUI - operating a vehicle over the legal limit of alcohol concentration or drug abuse | Suspension determined by court
- Habitual OVI offender - convicted 3 or more times within the preceding 3 year period | Court ordered and must complete treatment/rehab program
See all other types of suspension
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Ohio
In Ohio driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is unlawful if over a certain blood alcohol content (BAC). The following are limits set by law depending on the type of driver:
All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
Minor Drivers (under age 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
Commercial Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
Implied Consent Law in Ohio
If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Ohio these are the following penalties:
- First Refusal of Test - Drivers license suspension for 1 year
- Second Refusal of Test - Drivers license suspension for 2 years
- Third Refusal of Test - Drivers license suspension for 3 years
- Fourth Refusal of Test - Drivers license suspension for 5 years
Drunk driving cases in Ohio are often referred to as Ohio OVI (operating a vehicle while intoxicated), Ohio OMVI (operating a motor vehicle while under the influence or intoxicated), and Ohio DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol).
Ohio IID (Ignition Interlock Program)
Some drivers will need to install an ignition interlock device to adhere to Ohio state law. These drivers have been convicted of a DUI or other alcohol related driving offense. This device is installed in each vehicle that the driver operates and must be from a certified installation center.
Here are some approved Ignition Interlock Device installation centers in Ohio.
Do not remove the installed device prior to your suspension period as it will require you to start the suspension over again.