An SR-22 form is required by the state if your trying to reinstate your license. This form will provide the state with real time notification if the policy is ever cancelled. In the event the SR-22 auto insurance is cancelled your license will be suspended again and you will likely face more fees and higher insurance costs.
How much is SR22 insurance in North Dakota?
If you have a current auto insurance policy the cost to add an SR-22 is approximately $25-50 depending on the insurance company. This is just the cost to add the form you need and does not reflect the increase in your auto insurance due to the violation that required the SR-22. For example a driver that has a DUI conviction will see a large increase in auto insurance premiums due to that type of violation but the policy won't increase just because you add an SR22.
SR-22 Insurance Requirements
An SR-22 filing is also known as high risk insurance or proof financial responsibility in the state of North Dakota. This filing can be purchased through an auto insurance provider and will be needed in the following situations:
- Conviction for driving under the influence
- Conviction for actual physical control
- Conviction for driving under revocation
- Conviction for driving under suspension when the length of the suspension period is for 91 or more days.
- For any crash where no insurance was in effect at the time of the crash
- For a civil judgment arising from the operation of a motor vehicle crash
- Conviction for manslaughter in which a motor vehicle is used.
- Conviction for negligent homicide in which a motor vehicle is used.
- Conviction for a felony in which a motor vehicle is used.
Proof of financial responsibility must be kept on file with the director for 1-year from;
- The date driving privileges are reinstated
- The date a TRL is issued
- The date of the motor vehicle crash in which there was no insurance in effect at the time of the crash.
What company offers the cheapest SR22 in ND?
Each auto insurance company offers different rates to drivers in need of SR22 insurance depending on the following:
- Driving record (any accidents or tickets in past 3 years)
- Credit history (better your credit the more savings are possible)
- Prior insurance (6 months or more of consecutive insurance)
Companies like Allstate, American Family, and Farmers Insurance all offer SR22 insurance in North Dakota. The easiest way to compare the rates from these companies is to use our online service. Just enter your zip code in the box below to start.
How long is the SR22 required in ND?
In most cases the SR-22 filing is required for three years from the end date of your suspension period. DO NOT allow this policy to cancel prior to the end of your probation period as it will suspend your license again. Be sure to read your court ordered requirement as it will detail how long you need to file the SR-22.
North Dakota Liability Insurance Requirements
The state of North Dakota requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $25k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $50k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $25k Property Damage
- $30k No-fault coverage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
North Dakota now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.
Can I maintain my current policy issued in my previous state of residence?
No. The minimum required insurance must be issued through a North Dakota agent with an insurance company licensed to transact business in the state of North Dakota. Ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to North Dakota when you register a vehicle in North Dakota. This is required to assure that your policy is properly rated due to the different rate system amongst the states.
Suspended License Information and Requirements
A suspended license in North Dakota may be the result of the following law violations:
- DUI conviction
- 12 or more points accumulated on driving record
- Speeding 35 mph over the posted limit
- Refusing to take a BAC test
- Fleeing from a police officer
You will be able to reinstate your license after the court ordered suspension period. A reinstatement fee will be collected and proof of financial responsibility will be required in the form of an SR-22 filing.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in North Dakota
North Dakota state law makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. If you are under the age of 21 there is a zero tolerance policy which means any BAC .02% or higher will result in a DUI conviction.
What are penalties for a first offense DUI in ND?
A first offense driving under the influence will result in fines and license suspension accordingly:
- Fines $250 and higher
- License suspension of 91 days (BAC up to .17%)
- License suspension of 108 days (BAC .18 and higher)
- Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation
- SR-22 insurance requirement
Should I refuse the breathalyzer test?
Instead of telling you what to do we will explain what you can expect if you do refuse the breathalyzer. This way you can make a decision based on information versus legal advice from a non-legal website. If you refuse to take the test your license will be suspended for 25 days until a hearing will determine your suspension period. You can plead guilty to a DUI at this hearing to receive a usually lesser suspension period of 91 to 180 days versus the normal one year suspension.