Drivers in Florida may be required to file an SR-22 form with the state for one of the following:
- Accumulation of points on driving record
- 12 points in 12 months
- 18 points in 18 months
- 24 points in 36 months
- Failure to pay child support
- Incapable of operating a motor vehicle safely
- DUI see FR-44 Insurance
How long is the SR-22 filing required?
Depending on your court ordered probation the usual time period to carry an SR-22 is three years. The SR-22 will stay on your auto insurance policy as long as it is not cancelled so when your probation is over be sure to remove it from the policy.
I accidentally let me SR22 insurance cancel, what happens now?
Once the policy is cancelled the insurance company will report to the state motor vehicle department that the SR-22 is no longer in force. At this time your license will be suspended again until you reinstate the auto insurance policy. The bad news is that your probation period is likely to start over so it will be longer before you are done.
If you were convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida there are increased requirements for insurance. You will be required to carry liability limits of:
- $100K per person
- $300k per accident
- $50k property damage
The Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate FR-44 is required for three years unless a judge determines differently. There are no driving restrictions associated with the FR44 form but the court may limit your driving based on the offense. The addition of the Florida FR44 is only $15 but the increase in your auto insurance will be due to the DUI you received.
The increased level of coverage required on the FR-44 certificate is due to the increasing number of drunk driving accidents resulting in serious injury and/or death. After 2008 Florida made it state law that any driver convicted of driving under the influence would need to file an FR44 in order to reinstate their license.
It is important to not let your FR44 auto insurance cancel anytime during your probation period as this will result in suspension again. In Florida you will be required to carry the FR44 for three (3) years from the end of your suspension. Your required time to file an FR-44 will start again so it is in your best interest to maintain this policy for the life of your probation.
Do not let your auto policy lapse because the insurance company will notify the state and you may be suspended again.
Florida Liability Insurance Requirements
The state of Florida requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $10k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $20k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $10k Property Damage
These limits are also required for filing an SR-22. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position. If you need to file a Florida FR44 you will be required to have higher liability limits.
Florida now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.
Suspended License and Reinstatement
Each case is different and the type of suspension can determine what is required to get your license reinstated. Below is a list of state links to the appropriate action needed:
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Florida
State of Florida Blood Alcohol Concentration limits:
- All drivers .08 or above
- Commercial drivers = .04 or above
- Under age 21 = .02 or above
Implied Consent Law
When you get a drivers license in Florida you consent to a chemical test when you are suspected of driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. If you refuse this test your license will be suspended for one year. If you are involved in an accident with serious injury or death the officer may force you to take the chemical test.
Need to Install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?
The ignition interlock device program is designed for those drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol. It is the sole responsibility of the driver to get the IID installed from a certified provider on each vehicle they operate.
How much does the IID cost?
Standard installation is $70 plus a refundable $100 deposit due at installation. Another $67.50 is for monthly monitoring and calibration. For more information contact a certified IID provider.
Interlock Systems of Florida
Interlock Group of Florida